About

The Longhouse Council provides scouting to youth in Central and Northern New York State, including Onondaga, Cayuga, St. Lawrence, Oswego, Jefferson, and Lewis Counties.

Council Office Professional Staff

Office
Scout Executive Richard J Avery Jr Richard.Avery@scouting.org
Development Director William Albrecht William.Albrecht@scouting.org
Camping Secretary Helen Forward Helen.Forward@scouting.org
Marketing Specialist Sarah Whitehouse Sarah.Whitehouse@scouting.org
Accountant Steve Antonsen santonso@bsamail.org
Registrar Tiffany Williams Tiffany.Williams@scouting.org
Program Areas
Interlakes District Executive Daniel Ksiazek Daniel.Ksiazek@scouting.org
Oneida District Executive Crystal Dabrowski Crystal.Dabrowski@scouting.org
Onondaga District Executive Vacant
Ontario & Cayuga Senior District Executive Gary Bogner Gary.Bogner@scouting.org
Northern Lights and Tri Rivers District Director  Vacant  Ernest.Scribner@scouting.org

Volunteer Staff

Program Area
Council Commissioner John Steinbach steinbach.john@gmail.com
Council Training Chairman Harold Lehman hlehman@twcny.rr.com
Council Webmaster Aaron Knight webmaster@cnyscouts.org

Council Service Center and Scout Shop

Our council service center is located in the KMart Plaza off Exit 26 from Interstate 81 in Mattydale, in the North Syracuse area. Office hours are 8:30-4:30, Monday-Friday. For more information please contact our council service center at (315) 463-0201.

Boy Scouts of America

The Longhouse Council is one of more than 300 local councils. The purpose of the Boy Scouts of America, incorporated on February 8, 1910, and chartered by Congress in 1916, is to provide an educational program for boys and young adults to build character, to train in the responsibilities of participating citizenship, and to develop personal fitness.

How we work

As originally envisioned by Baden-Powell, the BSA is run by the volunteers. We are one of the few youth organizations that operate this way. This operating method creates a close working relationship with the volunteers and paid professional staff as well as more than doubling the total productivity of the group.

The Longhouse Council is led by a dedicated staff of hundreds of volunteers and a small paid professional staff that work to provide all council services.

We hold a charter from the national office of the Boy Scouts of America to operate a Boy Scout program in the area we serve. The Board of Directors hires the Scout Executive and charges him with running the program. He employs the necessary staff to meet this goal.

The close relationship between the volunteers and the professionals in the Longhouse Council is brought about by one thing - the desire to operate the best Scouting program we can to help the youth in our service area become solid upstanding citizens and leaders.