Awards and Recognitions

Please visit Awards Central, the Boy Scouts of America’s repository for information about official awards and recognitions. This is where the most up-to-date information about BSA-related awards may be found, including award applications and nomination forms.

A selection of relevant awards to our council is curated below. Click each heading to read more about the award and to download the award application or nomination form.

North Star Award

The North Star Award joins the prestigious Silver Beaver, Silver Antelope, and Silver Buffalo awards as a similar award recognizing a unregistered individual's significant contributions such as contributing land for a new service center, or for a CPA who has served as a councils' financial oversight for years. An individual who was previously registered with the BSA but is currently not registered is eligible to receive this award. However, any contributions made as a registered Scouter cannot and must not be considered. Only those contributions made as a non-Scouter may be considered for the North Star Award.

 North Star Award Nomination Form and Guidelines


The Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Upon nomination by their local Scout council and with the approval of the National Court of Honor, recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council. The Silver Beaver is an award given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self-sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service. It is given to those who do not seek it.

 Nominations for the Silver Beaver Award


These awards recognize registered youth and adults who have performed an attempt to save a life or to recognize notable acts of service that need not involve attempts of rescue or risk to self, but put into practice Scouting skills and/or ideals. Applications are received directly by the Longhouse council, which then makes nominations to the National Court of Honor; the National Court of Honor makes final determination of level awarded and sends award and certificate back to the local council for appropriate presentation.

 Lifesaving/Meritorius Action Award Application