Scouts BSA

Boy Scouts

Being A Member of Scouts BSA

Scouts BSA is a year-round program for youth around ages 11 – 17. Through the Scouts BSA program, young people can achieve the core objectives of strengthening character, personal fitness, and good citizenship.

Boy Scout Emblem

Scouts BSA, one of the traditional membership divisions of the BSA, is available to youth who have earned the Arrow of Light Award and are at least 10 years old or have completed the fifth grade and are at least 10, or who are 11, but not yet 18 years old. The program achieves the BSA’s objectives of developing character, citizenship, and personal fitness.

Learn more about the kinds of things that Scouts do—and learn to do them better—with the resources in this section. View activities on

Information about special events in Scouting, including the national Scout jamboree, JOTA, conferences, and troop open houses. View Events on

Summer camp programs, including patrol cooking and high adventure trek programs, are offered at Sabattis Scout Reservation, home of the James “Marmaduke” Seton Trek Center.

Reference material about some of the awards and recognition available to Scouts BSA participants. About Awards on

A number of opportunities such as training courses, summer jobs, scholarships, and special programs are available to Scouts BSA members. About opportunities on

These informational resources are provided to assist you in your role as a troop member. Publications listed on

Merit Badges
The national council of the Boy Scouts of America has published online the requirements to all merit badges, including the 100th Anniversary merit badges. You can find this information here: Merit Badge information on

Join Scouting

Programs for Boys & Girls of All Ages...