Awards and Recognition

Order of the Arrow

Each year Lowanne Nimat Lodge recognizes Arrowmen both individually and collectively that have demonstrated in some way the high ideals that are embodied in the Obligation of The Order of the Arrow. Our brotherhood is driven by people with great character, imagination, and vision. The awards are intended to identify worthy individuals and groups in the lodge who have shown their commitment to brotherhood, cheerfulness, and service.

Local Lodge Awards

Nominations for 2015 Awards are now closed and will be presented at the annual banquet.

Most Spirited Arrowman
The Most Spirited Arrowman is reserved for a youth member who has enhanced his role in the lodge by getting involved in its operation. He demonstrates an ability to inspire others by his example and demonstrates that cheerfulness and a team effort can accomplish difficult tasks. He displays energy and enthusiasm in what he does and encourages others to join with him to reach a common goal. His manner and method are an affirmation that the Order of the Arrow is truly a thing of the spirit.

Most Dedicated Arrowman
The Most Dedicated Arrowman is faithful in honoring his duty and obligation to the lodge. He demonstrates a readiness to sacrifice himself and seeks opportunities to be useful and helpful in its operation. He displays qualities of character by his reliable and loyal service. His commitment is obvious. His example is clear. The spirit, attitude, interest, and enthusiasm he possesses have shown him to be a significant contributor to the operation of the lodge and serve to reveal his grasp of the true nature of the Order of the Arrow.

Most Outstanding Arrowman
The Most Outstanding Arrowman demonstrates personal qualities of leadership and service that inspire confidence and respect. He is a motivator who looks for new perspectives and challenges. He can be relied upon to successfully complete his duties and assignments. He encourages others to continue to grow in skill, knowledge, and attitude. He is a self-starter who takes charge in the absence of detailed instructions and gets the job done. He sets the standard for leadership and service in the lodge that others can follow.

Most Outstanding Committee
The Most Outstanding Committee is the one that stands out as having done its job exceptionally well in the past year. It may have won an award, performed an exceptional service, or done something otherwise noteworthy that should be recognized by the lodge.

National Awards

Founder’s Award
The Founder’s Award is a national distinction created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for those members who memorialize in their everyday lives the spirit of achievement as described by the founder of the Order of the Arrow, E. Urner Goodman. Founder’s Award honorees receive a 2.5” bronze medallion mounted on a wooden pedestal bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson. Recipients also receive the Founder’s Award arrow, which is a gold arrow suspended from a solid red ribbon worn on the right uniform pocket.

Vigil Honor
The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to the lodge, to the Order of the Arrow, to scouting, or to the local scout camp. It dates from the year 1915 when founder E. Urner Goodman became the first Vigil Honor member. Membership cannot be earned by a person’s conscious endeavor. It comes as a recognition of unselfish leadership in service. This fact is given careful consideration in the selection of candidates for membership. Length of time spent in Scouting or the Order of the Arrow by a member is not considered enough reason for a Vigil Honor recommendation.

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position or office.

Questions can be submitted to with the subject line OA