Boypower 2015

button1 website dinner button

2015 Keynote Speaker – Michael Durant

michael-durant-lgLittle did retired Chief Warrant Officer Four Michael J. Durant know when he entered the United States Army in 1979 that one day he would be the target of a Somali-fired grenade launcher, a prisoner of war, and the subject of an acclaimed book and a major motion picture. Durant was the pilot of Black Hawk helicopter Super Six Four that was fired upon and subsequently brought down during a combat operation in Mogadishu, Somalia on October 3, 1993. After a horrific street battle, he was overrun by a crazed mob, captured, and held prisoner for 11 days. He was badly injured, suffering from gunshot wounds and a broken back, leg, and face. His image as a POW was seen around the world on the cover of TIME, Newsweek, US News and World Report, and all other television and media outlets. The events of that day were recounted in Mark Bowden’s best-selling book Black Hawk Down and Ridley Scott’s Academy Award-winning movie of the same name. Today, Durant is the New York Times best-selling author of In the Company of Heroes and The Night Stalkers and the president and chief executive officer of Pinnacle Solutions.

2015 Distinguished Citizen – Orrin B. MacMurray

The Longhouse Council, Boy Scouts of America is proud to announce the 2014 Boypower Dinner Distinguished Citizen Honoree will be Orrin B. MacMurray, P.E, Chairman Emeritus of C&S Companies. Mr. MacMurray has been a part of C&S Companies since 1972, joining after servicing as an officer in the Unites States Army Corps of Engineers.

Elected president of C&S engineers in 1994, Mac guided growth of the company. Serving as Chairman and CEO since 2000, Mac spearheaded efforts to diversify services, employee population, and office locations. He was appointed Chairman Emeritus of the Board in 2013.

Mac also holds numerous positions outside of business as well. He actively participates in the Manufacturers Association of Central New York; CenterState Corporation for Economic Opportunity, where he serves as Vice Chairman of the Board; Upstate Medical University Foundation; the Health Advancement Collaborative of Central New York; the Board of Clear Path for Veterans and the CNY Veterans Parade and Expo, as well as many other leadership positions within the community.

2015 Boypower Chairman – Mike Ferony

Mike Ferony is the Director of Operations of UPS’s Northeast District with responsibility for all package delivery operations in Connecticut, Vermont and Upstate New York.

Prior to his current role, Mike served in several leadership positions within the company, most notably as Package Division Manager in several operations in New York City.

Throughout his career, Mike held various positions of increasing responsibility in small package operations and Industrial Engineering. He leads the development of our company-wide sales lead program in the Northeast District and also co-chairs the Teamster contractual negotiations in New England and Upstate New York areas. Mike has served on a four week community internship in San Francisco’s Donaldina Cameron House.

Mike is a native of Bronx, New York. While attending Manhattan College, Mike began his UPS career in 1984 as a part-time package handler in the Central New York District. He also worked as a delivery driver prior to his promotion into management.

Mike currently serves as the Secretary of ARC of Onondaga’s Foundation Board and he is also a board member for United Way of Central New York. Mike currently resides in Manlius, New York with his wife Lisa and his children Michael, Kaylyn and Danielle.

We are pleased to have Mr. Mike Ferony as our 2015 Longhouse Council BoyPower Chairman.